CGNNY

The Consulate General of Nigeria - New York

About the Consulate General

As one of the four (4) Nigeria's diplomatic representation in the United States of America, the Consulate General of Nigeria, New York, has amongst its mandate, protection of its nationals, rendering consular services, and promoting economic relations with the United States of America.

The Consulate is located at 828 second Avenue, New York, NY 10017. Since its establishment, sixteen (16) Consul Generals have served in the Mission.

Events & Special Announcement
Important News
Important News

Nigerian and US Holiday
New Year's Day - Friday, January 01 ... ... Martin Luther King Day - Monday, January 17 ...
Presidents' Day - Monday, February 21 ... Good Friday - Friday, April 15 ...
Easter Monday - Monday, April 18 ... Workers Day - Monday, May 02 ...
U.S. Memorial Day - Monday, May 30 ... Democracy Day - Monday, June 13 ...
Eid-El-Fitri - Tuesday and Wednesday, May 3-4 ... Juneteenth - Sunday, June 19 ...
Independence Day - Monday, July 04 ... Eid Il Kabir - Monday and Tuesday, July 11-12 ...
Labor Day - Monday, September 06 ... Independence Day - Monday, October 03 ...
Eid Il Maulud - Monday, October 10 ... Columbus Day - Monday, October 10 ...
Veterans' Day - Friday, November 11 ... Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 24 ...
Christmas Day - Monday, December 26 ... ... Boxing Day - Tuesday, December 27 ...
*** Subject to Change. May be observed on a different Day

About Nigeria

Nigeria is located on the west coast of Africa and is the most populous black country in the world, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Benin and Cameroon. Nigeria covers 356,668 sq miles (923,7770 sq kilometers). It is about the same size as California, Nevada and Utah combined. Nigeria is diverse in people and culture. The history of the country goes back to 500 BC when the Nok people were the inhabitants. It was the ending of the 15th century European explorers and traders began their lucrative slave trade with the Yoruba and Benin peoples. In 1861 Lagos was colonized by the British and 1914, the entire country became The Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. Nigeria became independent in 1960.

Map of Nigeria

Our Home, Our Country, Our Nation...Nigeria

Nigeria is situated in the West African region and lies between longitudes 3 degrees and 14 degrees and latitudes 4 degrees and 140 degrees. It has a land mass of 923,768 sq.km.. It is bordered to the north by the Republics of Niger and Tchad.

Read More →

Our Team

AMB. LOT PETER EGOPIJA

AMB. LOT PETER EGOPIJA
Consul General

MOHAMMED MAIDUGU

MOHAMMED MAIDUGU
Consul - Welfare & Education

ISA IDRIS

ISA IDRIS
Consul - Consular

OKECHUKWU IROAMACHI

OKECHUKWU IROAMACHI
Consul - Immigration and Community Relations

ODIRIONYENAIBEYA BARTHOLOMEW AJAEREH

ODIRIONYENAIBEYA BARTHOLOMEW AJAEREH
Consul II - Immigration and Community Relations

YAZID IBRAHIM ABDULL

YAZID IBRAHIM ABDULL
Consul / Head of Chancery

NATHALIA  ONYECHE ADANU

NATHALIA ONYECHE ADANU
Consul - Trade, Investment & Culture

MOHAMMED GUMI

MOHAMMED GUMI
Consul Finance

ANIEFIOK EMMANUEL INYANG

ANIEFIOK EMMANUEL INYANG
Vice consul - Administration I

OLAYINKA DAUDA AKEUSOLA

OLAYINKA DAUDA AKEUSOLA
Vice Consul - Administration II

MOSUNMOLA ESTHER ONILEDE

MOSUNMOLA ESTHER ONILEDE
Immigration Attache I

YARIMA ABDULKADIR YAKUBU

YARIMA ABDULKADIR YAKUBU
Immigration Attache II

PINKY OGONNA ANENE

PINKY OGONNA ANENE
Immigration Attache III

The Consulate General of Nigeria - New York

Contact Details

828 Second Avenue,
New York, NY 10017

P: (212) 808-0301

F: (212) 687-1476

E: cgnny@nigeriahouse.com

H: Monday - Friday: 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Follow Us:

Send us a Message